Choose what happens to your FB account after you die
Facebook now lets users choose how their accounts are handled after they die.
Until now, the social networking site would only allow someone’s account to be memorialized: Others could see it, but no one could make any changes to it.
With the new feature introduced Thursday, users can name a family member or friend as their “legacy contact” authorized to manage their accounts.
After Facebook receives a “memorialization request” notifying the company someone has died, the legacy contact will be able to add posts to the top of the timeline, respond to new friend requests and update the profile pictures.
The legacy contact will not be able to log in as the deceased or see private messages.
Users can otherwise choose to have their accounts permanently deleted after they die.
So far, the new feature is available only to U.S. users.
Facebook plans to roll it out to other countries but did not indicate when.
Canoe Tech | Videos & Photos – News – Video Games – Mobile – Reviews – How to