Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

IndyCar: Ryan Hunter-Reay snatches championship from Will Power

FONTANA, CALIF.—Ryan Hunter-Reay has become the first American to win the IndyCar championship since 2006 with a nerve-racking final drive Saturday night in the season finale.

Will Power crashed out of the race early, and had to watch on television in street clothes as Hunter-Reay snatched the title away at Auto Club Speedway.

Hunter-Reay went into the race trailing Power by 17 points, but once Power was out of the race, he only needed to finish fifth or better. He worked his way through the field and into position to wrap it up, but had to hold on over some intense final restarts to pull it off.

He crossed the line in fourth to win the championship by three points.

Ed Carpenter won the race for his second career victory.


Read Toronto Star Sports

Norris McDonald’s Auto Racing Blog

thestar.com – Sports

None found.