Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

New Zealand to face England in men’s Rugby World Cup Sevens final

SAN FRANCISCO — New Zealand will get a chance to defend its Rugby World Cup Sevens title and complete a Kiwi sweep at AT&T Park after defeating Fiji 22-17 in the men’s semifinals.

Joe Ravouvou scored a pair of tries for the All Blacks Sevens, with Dylan Collier and Regan Ware adding one apiece. Kurt Baker made one conversion kick.

The All Blacks Sevens will take on England, who ousted two-time reigning World Rugby Sevens Series champion South Africa, at 8:46 p.m. ET/5:46 p.m. PT. It will be a rematch of the 2013 final in Moscow, which saw New Zealand win 33-0.

New Zealand’s women’s team successfully repeated as World Cup champions on Saturday, defeating France 29-0. The country’s men’s and women’s 15s teams are also the current World Cup title holders.

New Zealand won the women’s Rugby World Cup sevens championship, and wowed the crowd by doing the haka to commemorate their victory. Intimidated yet? 1:07

Canada stumbles against Australia

The Canadian men’s rugby sevens team couldn’t muster enough offence against Australia, losing 19-7 in the Challenge Trophy consolation semifinals at the Rugby World Cup Sevens on Sunday.

Australia’s sustained pressure with ball in hand put Canada on the defensive, while the team’s physical play at the breakdown forced several turnovers in a messy match. Lucas Hammond scored the lone try for Canada, with Nate Hirayama adding the conversion.

Canada will face Wales at 6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT with 11th place up for grabs.

Trying to play their way into a top-10 finish, Canada faltered against a higher-seeded Australian team, losing 19-7 at the Rugby World Cup sevens in San Francisco on Sunday. 2:27


CBC | Sports News