The World Video Game Hall of Fame is set to announce which electronic games will be the first inductees.

The Strong National Museum of Play in Rochester, N.Y., will house the hall.

The museum announced 15 finalists in April. The possible honorees range from games that debuted as far back as the 1970s, to one of the first addictive mobile games.

Among the older games is The Oregon Trail, which is educational and was created in 1971. The former computer game can now be played on mobile phones as players try to navigate their way across America during pioneer times. Other retro contenders are Pac-ManPong and Space Invaders.

The contending games cover a broad range of categories. FIFA is a soccer video game. DOOM is a first-person shooter game and World of Warcraft is a multi-player online role-playing game.

Angry Birds is recognized by the museum as “the first mobile game to achieve worldwide prominence” as a simple, addictive game with recognizable characters. The game was launched in 2009.

The other nominees are:?

  • The Legend of Zelda.
  • Minecraft.
  • Pokemon.
  • The Sims.
  • Sonic the Hedgehog.
  • Super Mario Bros.
  • Tetris.

This year’s inductees will be announced during a ceremony at the museum starting at 10:30 a.m. ET.